About Us

Catherine McCaig’s Trust is administered by Governors nominated by the Universities of Glasgow, Aberdeen and Edinburgh, by Argyll & Bute Council, the Church of Scotland, An Comunn Gàidhealach and other educational bodies. (Current Governors)

Over the years the Governors have included in their number many accomplished Gaelic scholars, writers and poets as well as leading citizens of Oban and Argyll.

The Governors meet three times a year, twice in Glasgow and once in Oban. The Oban Meeting every August has, as its primary business, the award of McCaig Bursaries to students leaving school and about to enter university education in Gaelic.

The Trust makes annual awards to under-graduate students of Bursaries and Grants as well as Scholarship awards to post-graduate students and Grants to other bodies and persons specifically for activities which will encourage and develop interest in Gaelic.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk to the Governors of the McCaig Trust, Monteith Solicitors, Park Farm, Nairn, IV12 5RZ ; email: enquiries@monteithsolicitors.com